Some people believe that More action can be taken to prevent crime, while others think that little can be done Discuss both sides and give your opinion

Crime has become a topical issue such that what to do about it is a conundrum. Although some intellectuals suggest that several measures can be taken to curb it, others believe there is not much we can do about it. Personally, a lot can be done to eradicate crime in our communities. On the one hand, today's criminals appear to be more sophisticated. By this, I mean that they employ advanced, state-of-the-art technological devices to nutmeg the most complex of security set-ups and networks. For instance, in Advanced Persistent Threats (APT), an individual or group gains unauthorized access to a network and remains undiscovered for an extended period; attackers may exfiltrate sensitive data, deliberately avoiding detection by the organization’s security staff. To overcome this, organisations would need a more complex technology which at the moment seems beyond the reach of a common man. This is probably why some people felt we can not do much to combat crime. On the other hand, there is no gainsaying the fact that more effective measures can be put in place to address crime in our society. A good illustration is Ghana, a country in Subsaharan Africa. The primary punishment for burglary theft in the country is to undergo community service for three years. Unfortunately, this was found not to significantly reduce the rate of such crimes in that country. However, since the new government upgraded the penalty to capital punishment, the rate plummeted to more than fifty per cent of initial figures. This further buttresses the view that indeed, taking more drastic steps to deal with criminal activities would be effective. To conclude, there are convincing arguments on both sides. However, meting out stricter punishments to criminals would go a long way in ensuring a crime -free society for us all