Some people say that the main environment problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, due to human activities, the environment is facing several challenges that are threatening life on Earth. Some people assert that the primary environmental issue of our time is the extinction of specific plants and animals, whereas others claim that there are more pressing environmental problems. This essay will analyse both these views and present my opinion. On the one hand, the loss of species of plants and animals is a major environmental concern. This is because a reduction in biodiversity may lead to an ecological imbalance, with far-reaching consequences. For example, in Cavendish bananas, scientists note that the variety’s lack of genetic diversity makes it vulnerable to Tropical Race (TR) 4, a kind of fungus which blocks the flow of water and nutrients and kills the banana plant. In addition, traditional medicines can be derived from the chemicals in rare plants and animals. In another case, several categories of fungi found on the hairs of three-toed sloths produce medicines effective against the parasites that cause malaria and Chagas disease as well as against human breast cancer. On the other hand, there are other environmental issues that are more pressing than the elimination of race. Further, this impacts the physical environment in many ways: including overpopulation, pollution, burning fossil fuels, and deforestation. Changes like these have triggered climate change, soil erosion, poor air quality, and undrinkable water. According to Health Organization (WHO) shows that an estimated 4.2 to 7 million people die from air pollution worldwide every year. To conclude, In my opinion, both the extinction of species and other environmental issues are of immense importance. However, species destruction has a greater long-term impact on the environment, as it can cause an ecological imbalance that can take centuries to restore. Conservation biologists note that these problems could be solved using a mix of public policy and economic solutions assisted by continued monitoring and education. Laws that prevent poaching and the indiscriminate trade in wildlife must be improved and enforced.