It is becoming more and more difficult to escape the influence of the media on our lives. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living in a media-rich society?

Nowadays, the media's impact on our lives is increasingly pervasive, and it is becoming harder to avoid it than before. Living in a community that has high literacy with news encourages people to be more creative and then broaden their careers; however, they are exposed to overloaded messages that lead to social conflict and expert distrust. On the one hand, living in an internet-based community offers several advantages, as discussed below. The profusion of data and information available in both digital and print mass publishing enables individuals to access a wealth of materials for inspiration and reference, fostering creativity and enhancing learning. Moreover, social media platforms enable aspiring artists to publish their work and receive constructive feedback from a diverse range of experts and professionals, thus improving the quality of their creative output. In addition, this ecosystem has the potential to generate novel employment prospects for creative professionals. The growing number of start-up companies, such as GOJEK in transportation and BUKALAPAK in online shopping is the best example of the utilisation of technology and modern society's requirements. On the other hand, Living in a community with high levels of news literacy may bring its drawbacks. One of the most critical demerits is the hate-speech phenomenon that become more and more escalating due to the openness of information and uncontrolled online social media. Users of social media can easily publish any news and opinion in their favour, and then other users will respond with negative comments based on their own interests. This consequently leads to a social conflict that may weaken the solid bond of society. Other than that, recent development experienced a growing number of mistrust phenomena toward specialists. Since everyone can access any information regarding various issues in their personal and professional lives, instead of going to a doctor or religious scholar for offline consultation, the majority of people prefer going to the search engine website and by texting a few keywords they can immediately receive what they seek. This condition seems to diminish the significant roles of the authority figures as a key source of information and learning and then poses them in danger. In conclusion, while mass media can engender social conflict and the erosion of expertise, it also affords individuals novel avenues for creativity and career advancement.