In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In their advertising, businesses today always promote the idea that there is something new in their products. I believe the main reason for this is that it can motivate customers to buy their products. It should be viewed as a positive development because only through consecutive updates can the products be better as well as the experiences of users. The emphasis on new things in products is a commercial strategy that can enhance the desire of buying products when customers are in two ways. And it’s actually a psychological operation because people always prefer new things. For example, old products usually have a price advantage over new products. One main reason that motivates us to purchase new products is what’s new. That’s why the businesses like Apple, Intel and Nvidia, always draw people’s attention to those new features in production release conferences, whereas there are just very few changes compared to the previous generation. If these businesses are honest, then customers will choose the more economical one instead of their products. Updates and feedback are the most important aspects of the sale of production. If a company doesn’t listen to feedback and make changes to products based on them, their products soon fail in rallies with other competitors. And users of products also benefit from these new things because these can really improve their experience when using products. This fact can be well illustrated in software development. Open-source software is popular these years since many contributors help to improve the software products together, so there always are new updates in these products. As a result, these products are getting better rapidly and businesses can also gain a lot of profit from them. In conclusion, I think improving purchasers’ desire to purchase products is why businesses always advertise new things in their products. Both users and companies can benefit from this because customers can get an improved experience and companies avoid being knocked out in the commercial competition.