Some people think the government funding should not be used for supporting art and culture, others think supporting cultural activities may be beneficial for the population and the culture. Discuss both views and give your own opinion?

Public investment plays a pivotal role in the growth of cultural activities in a country.So, Some people argue that the government should provide funds to different sectors other than art & culture. However, many believe the contrary. I strongly advocate the former opinion as it is more relevant to the present scenario. This essay will discuss both sides, my opinion followed by a comprehensive conclusion. To begin with, a large section of the population opine that financial support to science & technology and human resource development is more rewarding. For instance, Agriculture-revolution due to hybrid seeds in Israel has brought food security as it has led to an increase in food production. And, this experiment has greater benefits than putting money into supporting cultural programmes. Similarly, India’s efforts to make primary education free of cost proved successful. Hence, it is undeniable to ignore these areas of an economy. On the flip side, supporting art & fold activities can maintain multiculturalism in society. To illustrate, the Indian calendar contains the maximum number of national holidays in regard to different religious festivals. As a result, India is the most diverse nation in the world because we were able to provide an equal platform to all ethnicities. Hence, we cannot ignore the importance of tradition and craft. In my opinion, public expenditure on modern technology will create a self-reliant and prosperous community as citizens can then focus on their areas of interest as they become capable of cherishing their art & tradition. For instance, European nations prioritized spending money on such technology and now these countries have become the hub of creative activities. To conclude, putting funds into modern technology is crucial for areas like food security whereas creative art & culture generates a diverse community. Overall, it all depends upon the level of development & priority of a state.