The Government Is Wasting Money On Arts And This Money Could Be Better Spent Elsewhere To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The existence of art can be traced back to many years since humans started existing therefore it has been one of the areas of interest to the government. This support from the governing bodies has mostly been expressed financially which some people think is not necessary as this monetary support will be of more value to other aspects of the society. I partly disagree with this because of the numerous benefits that are associated with authorities investing funds in the Arts. Firstly, Arts preserve culture and as a result of this, individuals are more aware of their history, traditions, progress and failures. With different forms of art like sculptures, clothings and drawings, communities can identify what represents them optimally. For example, the African carvings depicting deities informs a person from that region about his or her beliefs. Secondly, Art is a significant contributor to tourism which is a growing aspect of human existence today. As a result of the variety provided by Art through its uniqueness in different parts of the world, leaders can boost their economies by incorporating Arts into their tourism schedule. An example of this can be seen in the number of tourists who travel from all over the globe to visualise the Monalisa painting. To conclude, I am of the opinion that the people in charge of the society should invest in the Arts as this will greatly benefit other aspects of the society through tourism and cultural preservation.