With the rise of E-book comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward, while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Reading e- books is a growing trend nowadays. Although electronic books are thought to be a sign of current advances in technology, other people consider that they can be detrimental. E- books are green and affordable compared to paper ones, but there are drawbacks that should be taken into account. On the one hand, there are several advantages to e- books. Firstly, reading such books helps to reduce the amount of air pollution. In other words, digital books are eco-friendly because they abolish deforestation. As a result, this can protect both vegetation and animal habitats. Secondly, another positive aspect of reading online books is that they are affordable since they are sold at lower prices than normal books. If you, for example, compare the prices of virtual books and paper ones on Amazon, you will find out that they are much cheaper than printed ones. Thirdly, printed books take up more space than e- books, which can be stored in a smaller space. This convenience makes them gain more popularity among people rather than traditional ones. On the other hand, one problem with reading interactive books is that they can cause health problems. Using an electronic device to read books can cause eye strain, headache and fatigue. Another possible issue is the heavy reliance on technology. In other words, reading e- books requires electronic devices which can be an obstacle when these devices run out of battery or break down. In addition, some e- books may not be compatible with all devices, and readers may need to purchase a specific e-reader or application to access a certain format, which can increase the cost. In conclusion, while digital books can be more beneficial than paper ones, they can also lead to health issues, dependence on technology and incompatibility.