Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups, and all members of the group receive the same grade (mark) on the project. Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to evaluate students? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

Group projects are essential for a student to develop more intellectually as they get more knowledgeable on things they do not know. It is therefore very critical to understand whether marking students with the same grade is the right way or not. Some may argue that all members of a group should be graded equally, but some think otherwise. From my perspective, I disagree with the statement and believe that each fellow should be monitored individually. I strongly feel this way for two main reasons, which I shall delve into in the following essay. To commence with, grading students in an equal way will negatively impact the student's learning process. Instead of learning from their mistakes, one may think that since he/she got the same grades, they would feel equivalent to others in the group. This,in turn, would cause them to misinterpret the areas they lack educationally. For example, I was part of a group, told to carry out a biology project for the class. We as a group did what we were asked and received similar grades. One day, during a surprise visit by the head professor, asked our teacher to demonstrate the biology projects. We got on with the explanation and halfway through he stopped us and corrected all our mistakes. Individualised grading is crucial so we do not repeat the same mistake again and learn from it. Secondly, most of the students would fail to understand the concept of hard work, if everyone in a group gets the same mark. In a group, there are two types of people, one is the hardworking kind and the second the lethargic, lazy kind. The hardworking kind will do most of the work wanting to score a perfect grade, whereas the lazy kind will depend on the former to complete their work too. Such kind of sincerity to an assignment will definitely put more load on the former group of people. For a team to function efficiently, each member must provide adequately for the success of the group. For example, ants always go in one line, find food and each will load food back to its nest. Grading equally, students will never understand that with only hard work and sweat comes success in life. In conclusion, I believe that students be graded individually, so that they will understand their mistakes and know how hard work in life can work wonders.