The popularity of news media often has been significantly influential in people's lives. Some people believe this to be a negative development. To what extent, do you agree or disagree with their opinion?

The news media has shown a significant role in shaping people's way of thinking. The influence of news media has been immense in the last two decades. Certain concerned parties contend that it has negative aspects on the development of human beings. In my opinion, news media has been crucial in people's lives as it creates awareness of their surroundings. Different ideas are uttered here to enlighten the topic. Firstly, the positive aspect of news media is that it creates a sense of awareness among the people about what's happening in society. It helps the being to combat various conflicts that come across their life. For example, from a common man's perspective, information regarding the downfall of the economy would help folks to anticipate the situation. Hence, various measures could be taken as early as possible. To be more specific, this could be well explained by an instance, when the COVID pandemic broke out across the world, the positive impact brought in by reporting agencies was big. People were well informed about the number of cases, and updates about the disease and people confronted the circumstances accordingly. On contrary, some detractors view the effect of news media to be negative. They argue that a constant influx of negative news would have a negative impact on the development of the brain. For example, news such as killing, robbery, and rape on a daily basis would wire the brain pathologically in such a way that people would become more anxious and depressed. Physiologically, human brains tend to give more attention to negative news rather than positive ones. The cruel side of the corporate news media is that they pour such news repetitively to acquire more viewership. Thus inflow of revenue increases. I would like to conclude by saying that it's up to people how much time they should invest in news media. Here, in my,opinion the positive aspects outweigh the negative footprint of the news media sector but the media should act ethically considering the mental health of the people. News media should be a bridge for the transfer of news but should not be a money-mining venture.