Some people think that cooking food at home is a waste of time. They think that fast food restaurants have made our life easier and less stressful. To what extent do you agree?

These days, fast food restaurants such as Mcdonald's, KFC, and Shake shack, have become more and more popular over the world. As people lead a hectic life, some of them prefer having fast food instead of self-prepared food in daily life and they think that preparing food at home is a waste of time. Although I accept that fast food restaurants have made our life easier, I disagree with the idea that people are wasting their time if they cook at home as there is a myriad of benefits. At the first glance, fast food could make people's life easier as they do not need to spend time preparing meals after a long day of study or work. However, on closer examination, people who always dine out may usually have health problems which may bother them in the future. As the food prepared by the restaurant usually contain a higher level of sodium, sugar and fat in order to make them more delicious, this in turn, may cause people to have a higher risk of different health issues such as cardiovascular problem and diabetes. On the contrary, cooking at home allows people to control all the ingredients that they use, and hence they are able to prepare healthier meals. Besides the above benefit of cooking, never should we overlook that cooking could also become one of our hobbies for stress relief. During meal preparation, people are able to stay away from the hustle and bustle during the day and focus on cooking. Cooking could be a kind of meditation and allow people to relax. Moreover, people could also gain a sense of satisfaction after preparing some delicious food by themselves which could elevate their mood. In conclusion, despite some people prefer having fast food instead of cooking at home as it is more convenient, I still believe that people should spend time on cooking due to its multitude of benefits.