Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

People who are not feeling well are more likely to find treatments that go against the wrong medical advice these days. The burden on the healthcare system can be reduced, but I think there are problems with misdiagnosis and unproven treatments. The main reason I believe that alternative drugs can be harmful is that they are more likely to be misdiagnosed. For example, patients can misdiagnose themselves with limited online knowledge or diagnose themselves with limited expertise. In addition, many alternative treatments are not supported by science. The medicines prescribed by doctors are often the subject of research to ensure that they are completely safe for consumers. In contrast, many alternative drugs may be designed for other purposes and may increase side effects or reduce effects. For example, many non-medical experts have argued that it was made to prevent parasites in animals, but needless to say, its use has produced several serious side effects. In conclusion, I think that finding alternative ways to alleviate disease is a negative aspect overall. Although this can help under-resourced healthcare workers, patients are more likely to rely on incorrectly diagnosed or unproven inappropriate drugs.