Nowadays anyone can post news on the internet. As a result, we cannot trust information we read there. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is easy for every individual to share information online, and it is hard for us to verify its authenticity. Personally, I believe that the convenient access to the internet allows people to spread misinformation easily which make it hard for internet users to trust content sent on different websites. To begin with, excessive amounts of forwarding and resharing of information make it difficult for the reader to find the sources of the story. This hinders people from distinguishing between authentic and false information. Everyone has the authorization to write and edit information online, which makes them not reliable all the time. For instance, many people get used to searching for information from Wikipedia which is one of the most popular online libraries. However, not every source in there is valid as the content on the website can be edited by everyone around the world in any time. Furthermore, misleading information can really affect the society in a tremendous way. For example, politicians usually create misinformation on social media before the president election in order to interfere with the perception of the public and damage the image of their rivals. There were several videos without medical evidence regarding the COVID vaccine that have gone viral and preventing citizens from taking the vaccine. In conclusion, the internet is like a pandora’s box which includes a lot of valuable content but also those without verification. I strongly endorse that it is not sensible to trust all the information from your electronic devices. Therefore, developing critical thinking is crucial for us to handle vast amounts of information in the virtual world.