Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Some individuals have little time for pastimes due to working too many hours. It is clear that the downsides of working long hours including relationship issues, as well as, mental, and physical complications outweigh the benefits of increased productivity and extra income. Firstly, one major drawback of people prioritizing work over personal time is relationship conflicts. This is due to them not having free time to spend with their loved ones, making their bond weaken over time. As a result, one may face family arguing and friendship loss. As an example, studies have shown that entrepreneurs often get divorced when trying to achieve success, as a consequence of their work habits. Furthermore, another negative side of individuals who do not have enough time for themselves concerns their psychological and physical health and the potential risk of developing diseases. This is because their workout routine and hobby habits may be compromised due to a shortage of free time. For example, anxiety and tendonitis are often some of the main consequences of people overworking themselves and not being able to exercise regularly. However, there are also a few merits to this lifestyle. For instance, productivity is usually increased due to workers being able to complete more tasks by working a few more hours at night, instead of keeping to commercial hours. Additionally, employees have the opportunity to ask for a pay rise as a reward for their effort, while self-employers may earn more income by delivering more products to clients. In conclusion, while there are some advantages to doing extra hours at work, such as achieving higher productivity and earning more income, there are more significant disadvantages that should be considered, including relationship difficulties, as well as, mental and physical illness. Therefore, to achieve a healthier lifestyle individuals should try balancing leisure time with their work routine.