Levels of depression and antisocial behavior in children have increased dramatically in modern societies. This situation has led many people to believe that childhood itself is in crisis. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Nowadays, the rate of depression and antisocial character in the younger generation has reached an all-time high in modern communities. This event has made people think there is a crisis in the general personality of a child. I agree with this view because most times children's needs are not provided with enough attention as before. On one hand, children tend to be isolated and depressed because of several factors. The busy schedule of a number of parents these days has affected the character development of their children. As a result of loneliness, children get depressed and isolated from the public. Furthermore, parents are like role models to their offspring, therefore, when they are unavailable it makes children lack confidence in themselves which in turn can lead to depression.Recent studies have proven that parents with jobs that require the most of their time, raise sad kids with co-existing disabilities. Take, for example, my aunt Gina works 18 hours a day in the hospital, this has affected her son's confidence, resulting in him not being able to make friends in school. On the other hand, a group of people believe that controlling the usage of technology by children will in turn prevent any form of negative development in their character. This is because an increasing number of children become depressed and isolated because of their experience on the internet. As a consequence, they become so attached to technological devices which do not benefit their mental health. It's been observed that controlling how children use gadgets makes them focus more on coexisting in the real world. For example, if a parent makes time for a child to visit parks and fun events, it will make them more outgoing. In conclusion, the younger generation possesses a developing mind that can also be distracted. In my opinion, parents should prioritise the needs of their children. I suggest working fewer hours will help parents focus more on building the character of their children.