in many countries today,tv crime series and crime novels are becoming more and more popular. why do you think these crime based tv and books are polular? what is your opinion of tv drama and crime fiction?

Crime is one of the most exciting genres to develop storylines about. Personally I believe that the puzzle and mind-blowing plot twists are what support this genre's well-gained popularity. Stories take place in modern society and whilst the main focus is a crime, other topics like love, action, and suspense, among others, are carefully balanced. First, the narrative of the story is told from a main point of view, which creates a natural link with the reader or spectator allowing him to follow the train of the main character's thoughts and understand his decisions. Additionally, this protagonist is often described as an individual, such as a private investigator or psychologist, who possesses impressive cognitive skills becoming an aspirational role for the consumer. Second, the story is centred around an enigma of discovering who is the criminal by linking several hints which are provided throughout the episodes or chapters and it's up to the main character, accompanied by the spectator, to figure them out before the killer makes their next move. The plot ends with a shocking revelation of the killer's identity who is commonly an individual close to the victim or the main character, for example a relative, partner or close friend. In conclusion, I consider that the mind-challenging storyline and the assertiveness of the main characters are the two key ingredients for the success of crime tv shows and novels nowadays. Despite other popular genres such as love, comedy and action being published and aired every day, crime plots are consumed by at least 35% per cent of users on streaming platforms and this proportion is expected to go up in the next years.