Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, health issues caused by consuming sugary food have been increasing to an alarming level in many countries. To tackle this problem, some people propose that the government should charge higher taxes on sugar in order to lessen consumption. From my point of view, I totally advocate this idea, and the following essay would help to strengthen my point. To begin with, increasing the sugar tax can help to decrease the rate of obesity and diabetes in society, which is usually caused by consuming an excessive amount of sweets. To put this in a simple way, a higher tax on carbohydrates means that the cost of related products will definitely increase, thus deterring consumers from purchasing those in local grocery stores. For example, when buying a bottle of Coca-Cola, customers would reevaluate whether it is worth paying a higher price, and this can result in choosing other alternatives. Moreover, charging an additional amount of sugary tax is a precious chance to promote organic and other sugar-free types of food and drink. Since people are deterred from buying products containing a high level of artificial sweets, businesses could promote other substitute choices, many of which are made from organic fruits and are beneficial for human fitness. For instance, instead of going for a Pepsi bottle, customers can buy a cup of orange juice, which is not only refreshing and sweet but also improves physical well-being. In conclusion, I believe that by making carbohydrate products more expensive, the authority could encourage citizens to consume fewer sweets, thus improving health and avoiding diseases such as obesity and diabetes, while also promoting other biological goods.