Some people believe that children should do what their parents tell them to do; others think children must learn to think for themselves. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The public has different views in terms of whether children should follow their parents’ instructions or think independently. Personally, I believe that the latter is more important in children's development and should be encouraged. On the one hand, parenting has a significant influence on children ’s lives. To be more specific, they teach valuable lessons such as the importance of hard work and being kind to others, eventually children will live a positive life. Moreover, they provide guidance and protect their children from harm. For instance, parents can teach offspring about the dangers of violence and sexual abuse, which can help prevent youth crime. However, overly strict parenting can lead to a rebellious mentality and damage the parent-child relationship to some extent. On the other hand, developing offspring decision-making skills and learning to take responsibility for actions is necessary. By learning to think critically and independently from a very young age, they can bravely confront the difficulties and obstacles in adulthood. Moreover, children with independent thinking skills are more likely to be successful. For example, one famous report from the University of Oxford, by observing a group of children for 15 years, finally came to the conclusion that children who usually make decisions by themselves in daily life tend to be successful in adulthood. Individuals who were observed followed their passion, which resulted in achieving new heights in their field. In conclusion, I can understand why people might suggest pupils obey their parents’ advice and guidelines, but it seems to me that independent thinking is much more vital in children's growth.