There are many ways for people to maintain contact with family and friends when living far away from each other. Some people believe that traditional letters are better than online methods of communication. To what extent do you agree with this point of view.

People have a variety of options to choose from when they want to keep in touch with friends and family. Some would argue that letters are the preferred choice. Although letters are the ideal option in certain situations, I am of the opinion that it is usually better to connect through internet applications. There are a number of reasons why letters might be preferred to internet communication. The fact that the writer cared enough to pay for postage is part of the reason why letters are so impressive. Indeed, in modern times, letters carry more meaning than they ever have because sending them is so rare. Along with this, letters can be kept as memories, which is particularly appropriate for parents who have children abroad. For example, my grandmother still has my father’s letters from when he travelled abroad for two years in the 1970s. However, in most cases, modern means of communication are clearly better. The reality is that convenience is very important for people who like to maintain regular contact. Applications such as WhatsApp, Line, and Messenger are perfect for such cases because they allow people to call or text anytime from almost anywhere for free. Furthermore, internet communication is instant and two-way. A letter can only express one person’s thoughts and experiences, whereas online communication allows both parties to share their feelings in real time. In conclusion, while letters do have their place, due to its convenience and instant nature, I believe internet communication is the best option for most people most of the time.