Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as coursework and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. Do you agree or disagree?

An examination plays a vital role in assessing the performance of a student. Many people argue that it is the only effective way of evaluation. However, I disagree with this as I believe that there are other effective and efficient ways to assess performance. This essay will elucidate my assertions in the forthcoming paragraphs. A formal examination is part and parcel of a student’s life, but it is not a full-proof method to understand or test a pupil’s knowledge. This is because students can pass such exams with flying colours by cramming or copying. For instance, a test taker can excel in a test by mugging up the syllabus without applying local reasoning. Hence, when there is a question in the paper which is outside the syllabus and where the pupil is expected to apply knowledge, such a student might merely be able to attempt this question. So, even though these types of tests help in evaluating performance, they are certainly not an efficient way to assess. In contemporary times, schools and universities have added activities like group discussions, vivas, assignments and projects in the course work. This enables the teachers to analyse a pupil’s performance and bridge the knowledge gap for a complete and thorough understanding. For instance, institutions these days have introduced presentations as a part of the assessment. This not only helps the students to use their creativity and sharpens their skill sets, but also encourages them to research the topic in order to present well. Such activities ensure that the student has understood the concept well and hence a better way to assess performance. Thus, definitely, formal examinations are an effective way to test knowledge but there are other ways which can be adopted for students to attain expertise.