The subjects and lesson contents are decided by the authorities such as the government. Some people argue thta teachers should make the choice. Do you agree or disagree?

The government has long been the decider of the school curriculum. However, an increasing number of people now claim that instructors should also be involved. Personally, I would agree that the majority of teaching materials should be designated by the authorities, although we should not deny the freedom of teachers to adjust the contents within an acceptable range. The standardization of core curriculum given by the government guarantees the equality of education and cultivates talents geared to the needs of the future society. If teenagers from state schools and elite private schools receive different contents in class while the admission assessments of higher education institutes are standardized, the resulting unequal opportunities to further studies will undoubtedly lead to public discontentment about social injustice. Another vital reason for educational uniformity lies in the fact that leaps towards future development formulated by the authorities require young talents with corresponding knowledge and qualities. Taking Chinese society as an example, the guidelines of the government clarify the need for innovative and persevering individuals with expertise in scientific fields such as electronic and aerospace engineering, thus students mostly attend STEM courses during obligatory education. On the other hand, there exist certain cases in which the single education system fails to fulfil the potential of all students, and this is when teachers are supposed to tailor the lessons for students. For those who are physically or intellectually impaired, mentors are expected to offer additional help including more elaborate explanations, in the worst-case scenario, they can even lower the difficulty of the course in accordance with a student’s capability. In addition, with the help of online applications and videos, teachers can provide students with more diversified learning methods and experiences. In summary, it is the government that should shoulder the responsibility of setting the standard for the general curriculum, despite minor variations determined by teachers.