Some people argue that the main aim of advertising is to improve the sales of products that people do not really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, people are constantly faced with omnipresent TV commercials, pop-up advertising windows as well as printed leaflets. While some tend to hold that advertisements are primarily aimed at producing unnecessary consumer demands, I consider this claim as a mere underestimation of their roles. Undeniably, the majority of companies promote their products so as to generate profits by creating misconceptions among the public about their possessions and requirements. By associating their products with a higher social status along with wealth, sellers successfully utilise the mindset of ordinary people, subliminally persuading them to believe that their possessions cannot match their identity and needs. Therefore, they are likely to fall prey to emotive commercials and may well squander extra money because of that. Nonetheless, the purpose of advertising is more than just selling unnecessary items, instead, the underlying demands of customers may be discovered when watching commercials. Without advertising, the choice of people would be restricted to only a narrow range of commodities. For instance, in certain underprivileged rural areas around the world, young girls do not even take sanitary pads into account in their budgets, but fortunately, the promotion of such daily necessities keeps them well-informed of their vital roles in the prevention of bacterial infection and gynaecological diseases. Another vision of some propaganda that can barely be neglected is to raise public awareness on several social and environmental issues. Normally, these include the spread of the latest policies, legislations and mainstream values of the society with the purpose of cultivating a high moral standard among the public. In addition, public interest advertising which educates people in terms of simple lifestyles and wildlife protection is not uncommon, thus their significance in instilling knowledge and common sense can never be easily ignored. In conclusion, admittedly, the basic function of most advertisements is to promote commodities, while in other cases they serve as a vital approach to teaching the public about important concepts and challenges that all human beings are facing.