Some people say that when children under 18 are committing a crime they should be punished, while others believe they should be educated. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your own opinion.

There is no denying the fact that the main impact of crimes is arguable. While it is a commonly held belief that criminals youngsters under 18 years old should be educated, others contemplate that they must be punished. This essay will shed light upon both arguments and will show my opinion. There are masses who believe that criminals under 18 years old must be punished. The main reason for believing this is that regardless of age, penalizing criminals will teach them a lesson to stop crimes. For instance, a prestigious journal article published that 40% of teenagers who committed crimes had stopped after disciplining them. Subsequently, punishing teens can be an effective method to hinder crimes. Thus, it becomes apparent that penalizing pupils can help decreasing the incidence of crime. On the other hand, others argued that youngsters must be educated instead of being punished. The folks often argue that because those teenagers are still children and they require care and support in order to be good human being as they are still in their learning age. In other words, ones should not be harsh on them, if you educate them and support them at the beginning of their life, they might be able to get a well-paid job and cease crimes as the main cause of crimes is getting less education. Hence, this makes it clear that teaching youngsters and emboldening them financially could help them to terminate crimes. In conclusion, both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I strongly believe that the authority must teach juveniles and encourage them to halt crimes. Therefore, youth can perceive care and education which may cease them from committing crimes.