Today there is a great increase in anti-social behaviour and lack of respect to others. What are the causes of this? What measures can be taken to reduce this problem?

Recent decades have witnessed a major increase in the number of anti-social and disrespectful behaviours. The emergent media and sufficient education can be possible culprits for the issues, there are, however, several measures that are useful in tackling them. On the one hand, new media including TV shows and the internet has allowed a wide variety of events to be informed to the public, and bloody and violent contents are no exception. Such contents come in various forms where the images or descriptions are so vivid that perhaps both children and adults would like to imitate the behaviours. Therefore, without discretion and willpower, people have been manipulated by violence since hatred was fostered in their minds. On the other hand, current education systems in the majority of countries give priority to academic performance rather than passing on moral ideas. Students are taught to focus on textbooks and exams, sometimes, it is no exaggeration to say that certain offensive behaviours of top-notch students can even be tolerated and forgiven by teachers even if they are involved in misconduct such as verbal insults or physical aggression. As a result, they are likely to attach little importance to morality and display disrespectful attitudes towards other people. Since the aforementioned trend is linked to higher crime rates and social insecurity, immediate action should be taken to reverse it. One viable solution to curb the proliferation of violence-related content is to enforce heavy censorship and promote a harmonious online environment so that people will adopt a more positive outlook on society. Another way to cope with the situation includes extracurricular activities in which students may act as volunteers, engaging the community and helping others in need. In this way, the concepts of empathy and politeness can be deeply rooted inside their mind instead of hostility and indifference to others. In conclusion, evil deeds and disrespect essentially stem from innate anti-social personalities without correction, guidance or cultivation. Only with restrictions on stimulants to violence and the nurture of morals can the problem be solved more radically.