In many countries government spent a large amount of money on improving internate access. why is it happening and do you think it is the most appropriate use of government money.

The internet has become the sine qua non (prerequisite) of promoting national economies. No wonder, many governments are investing a lot in making the internet available freely to their citizens. this essay intends to analyse the reasons behind this phenomenon. I believe that the government are being wise in doing this expenditure. The main reason why some governments are spending on internet access is that realise that it is not an expenditure but an investment, which eventually will come back to them in the form of taxes. With increased and efficient internet access, businesses will be able to expand their business globally. The internet plays an indispensable role in communicating with clients, importing products and getting to know international information. This will ultimately boost the country's economy. Secondly, the internet acts as a social leveller. By giving internet access to the poor and depressed sections of society, the government can bring them to the mainstream and ensure their participation in growth and development. The internet empowers people. Giving them access to vital information makes them aware of their right. It provides opportunities to people living in remote areas or villages. The internet has created countless jobs directly and indirectly and allows people to work freelance. Perhaps, no other invention has had such a tremendous impact on our lives during the last twenty years. I believe that the governments, which are spending on internet access, have the foresight that this is imperative spending. The internet is a whole universe on its own. It can be used in any way. Developed countries and intelligent public use its services in many ways to provide health care, education and common knowledge to remote places. Free and fast internet would give every single person more opportunities to share and gain knowledge and make their opinions, which will help governments and corporations to make better choices. Hence a free and fast internet for everyone should be an absolute must for better democracy and economy. To conclude, there are many reasons why some governments are spending on providing internet access to their people, and I consider it a judicious expenditure with far-reaching positive consequences.