Schools should teach children some academic subjects which will be beneficial to their future careers. Therefore, other subjects such as music and sports are not important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, subjects like sports and music are a part of academics at many schools and universities. Some people feel that such subjects are absolutely unnecessary for children to learn and institutions should prioritise student’s education rather than sports and music. However, some others opine that these subjects are required for the overall growth of a child. I completely agree with the latter, and this essay will elucidate my assertions in the forthcoming paragraphs. These days subjects like sports and music are not only a part of cultural events at schools but also a part of academics. These subjects teach lessons to pupils like sportsmanship, a never-give-up attitude, being a team player, etc., which otherwise would not have been possible to learn. For instance, it has been observed that students who engage themselves in sports become better leaders at companies than the ones who have not played during their childhood. Thus, the inclusion of such activities in the syllabus teaches pupils qualities that will help them in the future. Moreover, it acts as a recreational activity for students who otherwise don’t get much time to play. This helps them to concentrate better in studies, keeps their body healthy and mind fresh. For instance, as the current generation is technologically inclined, children these days often engage themselves in video games or mobile phones. Most of these children suffer from diseases like obesity and depression from a tender age. Thus, if such children are exposed to sports and music at school it will keep their body and mind active. So, the cases of these kinds of diseases will go down. In conclusion, I agree that the primary goal of educational institutions is literacy but at the same time subjects like sports and music are irrefutably necessary for the overall development and growth of children.