Studying the English language in an English-speaking country is the best but not the only way to learn the language

Mastering a language in a country where it is widely spoken has many positive sides. It is therefore, a good idea to study English in a country such as Britain, I believe it is not the only way to learn the language. Firstly, more students in non English -speaking countries master English at secondary school, and sometimes at university these days. Though, their spoken English is not usually of a very high standard, their base of grammar is quite advanced. This is certainly useful when students come to an English -speaking country to perfect the language. Secondly, studying the essence of English at secondary school is less stressful than mastering the language while overseas. This is because students living at home do not worry about difficulties such as finding accomodation, paying for their study and living costs and trying to find survival in a foreign country where day by day living might cause much stress. On the other hand, there are definite advantages of learning English in a foreign country. Every day there are opportunities to practice listening to and speaking with foreign people. In addition, students could experience the culture firsthand, which is a great help when trying to grasp the language. This is especially true if they choose to live with a foreign family, as exchange students for instance. All in all, even though it is preferable to study English in an English -speaking country, a reasonable level of English can be achieved, if a student is gifted and dedicated.