Today, TV channels broadcast man’s sport shows more than women’s sport shows. Why? Should TV channels give equal showtime for women’s sport and men’s sport?

There is a controversial perspective heating up a debate over the fact that the amount of showtime spent to broadcast male sport than its counterpart in this day and age. In my opinion, I would contend that showtime should be given for both genders’ sport equally on television channels. Without a shadow of a doubt that, almost all TV producers have a tendency to prioritise men’s sport. This may be due to the fact that showing male sports can attract more profits and investments. For instance, each Vietnamese men’s football match appeals millions of spectators and audiences from all over the country to cheer them either at the stadium or through the screen. They also gain ample contracts of promotions which are advertised on billboards everywhere in the nation. Hence, television producers will earn more revenue when broadcasting male sports. While the redeeming feature of showing men’s sport is widely acknowledged, it is unfair if that of its counterpart is neglected. Although male athletes attract huge amounts of profits, the reputation of female sports is increasing, which also appeals to a wealth of attractions for the time being. For example, there are more sports for women in numerous well-known competitions such as AFC Cup in Asian which organised female football tournaments. Thus, more women’s sports should be broadcast on television. In conclusion, it is doubtless to say that male sports are more popular and gain a lot of revenue, however sports which are played by female athletes should be given equal showtime on the screen.