Modern technology has made it easier for individuals to download copyrighted music and books from the Internet for no charge. To what extent is this a positive or a negative development?

echnological advancement has paved the way for individuals to illegally download music and books without paying. While some assert that it helps the impoverished part of society to entertain themselves for free, I tend to believe that this has an adverse impact. To start with, the music and book industry might not generate profit if this phenomenon happened frequently. It is generally known that music artists and their companies splash out a huge sum in order to make good quality songs. Not only are recording studio equipment expensive, but music video making also requires a great deal of money: from hiring the producers and directors to designing the sets. The similar conception applies to writers: they spend a majority of their spare time generating ideas for a sophisticated novel, thus book writing involves mental exhaustion. Therefore, those who utilise these two entertainment matters for no charge are showing disrespect towards writers and musicians. What is more, the availability of free copyrighted material can lead to a loss of income for artists and writers, who depend on sales to make a living. However, some may consider that downloading music and books from the Internet for free is rather a positive development, specifically for low-income individuals. People who are feeling financially desperate might not have enough money to spend on music listening or purchase books constantly. In order to amuse themselves, they choose modern technology that has helped them to achieve this. Therefore, for poorer individuals, this is generally acceptable. To sum up, technological breakthroughs have helped low-income people install entertainment matters without authors’ consent. This phenomenon, in their view, might be beneficial, however, I would consider this as a detrimental development as it is unethical behaviour towards authors.