After being punished, many criminals continue to commit crimes. Why do some people commit crimes even after having been punished? What measures can be taken to tackle this problem.

Certain criminals always have the tendency to carry out criminal activities regardless of being penalised. Clearly, the offenders believe that the punishments given to them are only on a temporary basis and the trial does not carry any heavy weight on the lawbreakers as they are not severe enough. In this essay, I will discuss how crucial this problem is for society and how it must be tackled. The main issue for offenders to proceed with their inhumane actions is that the punishments given to them are for a very limited period of time. Whereas, this encourages the criminals to carry forward their illegal actions. For example, In 2010 a woman in India was gang raped by seven young teenagers in a moving vehicle that actually killed the woman due to the insertion of multiple rusty metals penetrated into her body, this caused national news in India and once the rapists got caught, they were only imprisoned for 10 years. This motivates not just the rapists to continue committing such violations, but it also encourages the other youngsters to enjoy such felonies as the trials are only for some period of time. Firstly, Crimes must not be taken lightly, as they can pose great damage to society. It is important for the government to look forward towards such situations and increase the duration of their punishments to a much longer period and also impose criminals with heavy fines, so they may think twice before doing something illegal. On the other hand, certain criminals enjoy going to prison, because they believe that being imprisoned is better than living in poverty. One example of this is, in 2018, a man in Bangladesh stabbed his neighbour multiple times due to an argument between them, and later reported himself at the police station, and clearly stated to the cops that the inflation had increased so much, that he could not feed himself, and he did this crime deliberately because he will be given proper meals in the jail, and clearly states, that the punishments are not severe enough. It is important for the government to increase the severity of punishments and also need to provide facilities for the lower-class men to at least give them shelter and food a timely basis, as we as citizens pay taxes for the welfare of the country. In conclusion, the number of crimes will be reduced if the government focuses on solving the issues of poor people and increasing the duration of punishments by imposing severity of punishments, so that it can make the criminals think before breaking the law again.