It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

There is no gainsaying that taking a year off before university is an upward trend. Although students often struggle with the breaking of connection with academics in a year gap, the refreshment of mind and spending time with family is advantageous to students. Twelve months gap between school and institute has an equal number of banes and boons. Undoubtedly, there is not merely one, but a basketful of causative factors how one year off makes students' life bed of roses. The most prominent one is that it aids in refreshing their mind from study pressure by providing them with sufficient time with the family. Due to academic studies, learners need more time with their parents during their research. That's why taking leave before higher studies helps them to tighten their bond with loved ones. For instance, it is mandatory in Australia to take one - year vacations after school as it is beneficial for pupils and parents to understand each other. Hence, the family connection can be strengthened by having some space from studies. Having said that, when it comes to drawbacks, then there are myriad. The main one is that youngsters can indulge in other activities, such as virtual games, by which they lose interest in studying. Nowadays, social media and online games are grabbing the eyeballs of younger ones, impacting their academics. According to a survey conducted by 'The Times', it is concluded that 80% of people in India have dropped education after academy as they involved themselves in other unusual tasks when they have gotten a year gap. To conclude, there would be no exaggeration to state that 365 days of leave after school is taking an edge these days. Even though folks lose interest in studying during this period; however, they also get family time. The utilization of this time in a proper way has lucrative effects. The misusage of these days can have catastrophic consequences.