International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

In today’s world, international tourism has become an integral part of some countries’ economies as an additional income from taxes. However, it has certain drawbacks like harmful effects on local citizens and the atmosphere. I believe that this advantage far outweighs any potential disadvantages. A hazard for local people can be seen as the first potential downside of international tourism. The main reason behind this is that nobody is able to absolutely control non-local individuals in a country or in a city, so they can commit crimes and make damage to inhabitants. Take, for example, when China opened borders to tourists a year ago, the statistic of burglaries and murders rose that time. The same can be true of a detrimental impact on the atmosphere. As a result, if there are more individuals in a country, it is required to produce more goods and food which leads to an increase in energy consumption and emissions of exhaust fumes. However, I do not think that these detrimental effects should be seen as major disadvantages because additional revenue can overcome these factors. On the positive side, complementary money from taxes is able to tackle these problems by increasing the number of police stations and officers to fight illicit moves and developing renewable sources of energy. In other words, these measures will help to prevent harm to inhabitants and the environment. For instance, despite the fact the crime rate in Chine grew in the first period, this index dropped considerably in the next year, because the authorities undertook special facilities to enhance the level of safety in the street by commissioning new security cameras and increasing the number of police officers. As for the atmosphere, the figures for exhaust fumes also declined because of the construction of new solar and wind farms from complementary revenue from visitors. Thus, I believe that such developments are quite important to reduce harmful effects and continue to evolve the areas of a country. In conclusion, although international tourism has some disadvantages like a hazard for local citizens and a threat to the flora and fauna, I think these downsides are greatly outweighed by the upside that additional revenue can solve these problems and speed up the process of developing any areas.