Some people say that every human being can create art. Others think that only people born with the ability can create art. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Art has been part of life since the very first forms of human civilization. From the outlines of hands painted on neanderthal caves to digital artforms in recent years, artwork has come in countless different shapes and forms throughout the centuries. Artistic expressions have left hardly anyone indifferent, because they make an appeal to people’s deepest emotions of love, loathing and everything in between. Art ’s subjective nature has also given rise to two opposing views. On the one hand, some people argue that such skills are purely innate. On the other hand, there is the opinion that every human is capable of creating art. The claim that art can only be produced by natural-born talents parts from the assumption that pieces of art should meet some objective and measurable standards in order to qualify as good work. It might be impossible to learn how to master specific techniques or successfully achieve certain aesthetic effects and these might simply be part of the skillset given to an artist at birth. However, if we consider art as any piece of work that is an expression of one’s personal feelings, is aesthetically pleasing or evokes emotional reactions in others, then it can be argued that anyone could be an artist. Is a child’s clumsy drawing of her favourite pet or a blurry photograph of a one’s best friend not art? I personally hold the belief that art is too subjective an expression to be held against formal standards. Moreover, I am convinced that people can learn techniques to improve their skills. Therefore, I consider that everyone has some sort of creative capabilities which can be unleashed if they forget about quality. In conclusion, art can be measured against objective or subjective standards, leading to the two views that talent in this field depends on either nature or nurture. Objective quality might be easier to achieve if one has a natural talent, but this can also be reached by training and practice. In short, I believe anyone can be an artist if they wish to be one.