Some students who perform badly at school go on to have very successful lives as adults. What qualities are needed to do well at school? Are these the same qualities that help people succeed later in life?

Some students manage to achieve their success in life in spite of their poor academic performance. The main qualities needed for academic success are diligence and good time -management skills. However, I would argue that other skills are needed to be successful in later life. Any student who wants to perform well in an academic setting should possess two main qualities. Firstly, diligence is of utmost importance as it enables them to have a great level of dedication to their academic journey. When invited by their peers to go to parties or play games, they can resist the temptation and instead spend their time completing their homework and reviewing what they have learned. With this personality trait, they can then gain a deeper understanding of their school subjects and perform well during school tests, eventually helping them obtain satisfactory scores more easily than their classmates who are not as committed. Secondly, time management is equally important for pupils to handle their various academic responsibilities. They frequently receive individual and group assignments from different teachers, so they have to allocate enough time to each task and meet the deadline. In fact, not only do the students have to work to assignment deadlines, but they also have to devote their time to the material when exams are approaching. With poor time management, they may struggle to organize their school activities and end up feeling overwhelmed, which could result in them not producing the highest quality work. However, despite needing these qualities in school, I would argue that they are not as important as a mindset focused on personal growth and leadership when it comes to achieving success in life. A desire for growth is what often separates highly successful individuals from mediocre ones. For example, many teachers usually choose to work as full- time employees and earn a fixed amount of income on a monthly basis as they are comfortable with the sense of financial security. In contrast, other teachers who think big may choose to step outside their comfort zone and pluck up the courage to run their own educational institution despite all the risks involved. When their business takes off, they can generate way more money than average teachers do. Furthermore, people also need to have leadership qualities. To keep a business running well, the owners have to manage their employees well and motivate them to boost their productivity. Similarly, in the working environment, a great number of highly-paid jobs, such as executive directors, require managerial skills. Without proper leadership skills, it is difficult for employees to advance their career development and climb the corporate ladder. In conclusion, students must be diligent and good at time management to achieve academic success. However, I believe that it is a growth-oriented mindset and leadership that allow people to succeed in life.