Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case?

It is not uncommon that freelancing has been becoming a popular trend since the 21st century began. This means numerous individuals decided to work for themselves instead of companies or organizations. This essay will provide some possible reasons, described in the following paragraphs. Firstly, freelancers can have autonomy over the work, implying that they can deny clients who are particularly unrealistic because they do not be governed by their employers. Meanwhile, sometimes, they also refuse some clients based on moral reasons, especially someone who is willing to do immoral things for getting a higher profit, since they do not need to worry about they will receive punishment from their bosses. So, it is undeniable that autonomy is the most attractive benefit for younger workers. Secondly, obviously, the flexible timetable is the second most impressive point. As a result, freelancers cannot go to the workplace at a fixed time, like 9 am to 5 pm; therefore, they definitely save commuting time. Similarly, they can choose their dream places and the perfect time to finish their jobs, it represents that they can learn how to improve their work efficiency so that they can have much extra time for entertainment or enjoying their life. Consequently, freedom is a precious thing for most public pursuits. Lastly, advanced technologies fail to prohibit a significant soar in the number of freelancers, since these can create various types of work to provide an increasing number of working opportunities. For example, independent journalists, web designers, and app developers are the most common freelance in modern society; therefore, the internet provides the basics for development of freelance. In conclusion, cutting-edge technologies become vital elements for freelancing. In addition, both autonomy and a flexible schedule am attracting a majority of individuals to pursue freelance.