Prevention is better than cure researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventive measures , do you agree

It has been observed that an enormous amount of public funds are spent on sectors which can be redirected towards other necessary domains such as education and public development. Spending a hefty volume of funds on curing and researching diseases rather than on their prevention would be just like an open loop and will not provide any far-reaching benefits to the nation. Medical facilities are the right of any citizen of the country and providing the necessary cures to its citizens is considered to be the primary objective of any welfare state. However, spending an enormous load of funds on the cure rather than its prevention will not be a sensible decision. For instance, in pandemic situations like covid where treatment of corona patients required extensive medical facilities and governments were trying hard to restrain its effects by doing preventive measures because curing the affected patients became a daunting challenge for the medical infrastructure. For example, oxygen supplies and the availability of medicines became a challenge for the state as an enormous number of masses were affected by that virus. Thus, strict preventive measures were taken by the organizations to prevent the rapid spread of the pandemic. Education about food and general hygiene can play a vital role to curb the risks of illness. For example, viruses like hepatitis and aids can be get controlled by providing awareness to the public about hygiene. Therefore, strict pragmatic measures need to be taken by the state-owned institutes to eliminate the risks of diseases. To put it in a nutshell, necessary research on illness and on its cure to safeguard the population is considered a vital role of any state but spending all the resources on their advancement and development rather than on their prevention may not be considered a responsible act and may only burden the masses.