Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In this modern era, many people including children spend time with their smartphones. Some people argue that it is happening because children today need that technology to support their daily activities such as school or for entertainment. Others argue that children should not be provided with smartphones because it can give more negativity. This essay will discuss why children spend more time with smartphones rather than doing other activities, and this essay will discuss whether it is positive or negative for them. First, many young generations today tend to spend more duration with gadgets because it is something that they cannot avoid. For example, many schools present-day have been changing their way of delivering school materials to students from paper-based to online material. In this case, children do not have a choice to not use their gadgets to access the material provided by their teacher. Furthermore, parents cannot forbid their children because it can reduce their children ’s performance at school. Another reason is the way youngsters spend their free time for entertain themselves has changed compared to the past. Today, most children tend to play online games rather than play outside because it will be easy for them to meet their relatives or even new friends via online games. For example, one famous game is a mobile legend where children can easy to play and get new friends randomly all around the world. In this case, by meeting strangers from foreign countries, they can easily improve their ability to speak using an international language such as English. In conclusion, I believe that spending a whole day on gadgets is something that they cannot avoid, especially in this era which is dominated by technology. This improvement can bring positive effects if children use that tools wisely. If some parents may be afraid that their children can access other content that is harmful to them easily, parents should have strict rules that apply to their children such as controlling the schedule or even installing some applications that can connect to parents’ smartphones.