Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

Instead of learning indigenous speech, learning a foreign language, especially English is commonly seen as more crucial at school if not, it will put the student at a strain risk. It is true that mastering the English language is very important. However, in my opinion, the resident should preserve their local language and make sure it can’t be replaced by any foreign mother tongue. Nowadays, it is apparent in some countries that an English major will be a mandatory course at institutions. The aim of that subject is to make sure the pupils will be advanced in using the English language thus it can be an asset for students in the future. In Jakarta, there are some international schools that require their student to unlock English proficiency levels both in British and American accents. As a result, graduates from international schools are most likely easy to get a scholarship abroad or get hired by a multinational company. On the contrary, students that graduated from a conventional institute that doesn’t focus to teach their pupils to learn English are likely to find difficulty receiving a job. However, putting the focus on merely mastering a foreign language can threaten the survival of indigenous languages. One of my friends who work as a Bahasa Indonesia teacher in International Schools in Jakarta told me that almost 90% of pupils are unable to speak Indonesian; they are more fluent in speaking English than in Indonesia. Moreover, some students also have a lack of interest in Indonesian culture, and it is more fascinating for them to learn about western culture. Therefore, I believe the academic institution needs to consider creating a balanced syllabus for learning local languages and foreign languages. Back to the testimony of my friends, in her school, they already implemented 2 days with Bahasa and 3 Days with the English method. Subsequently, the number of students who are improving their Bahasa level is starting upward. In conclusion, although being skilled in English is important, the existence of the mother tongue needs to be preserved. If not, there is a possibility for the next generation will forsake their indigenous culture. I believe school is playing a big role to ensure students are taught local language and international