Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects at university in many countries. Why is this? What effects does this have on society?

In recent times, more and more students decide not to choose science subjects at universities worldwide. This trend has caused great concern among nations; thus, it would be of great value to realise why this is happening and what impacts it might have on societies. This essay will look at the reasons and the impact of this phenomenon. When it comes to reasons, there are several in this regard. Firstly, some may find science -related material heavy; that is why they try to opt for other subjects, such as marketing and fashion in which they can fully and easily digest and analyse their information throughout their course. Secondly, as the unemployment rate is a major challenge among science graduates, candidates are more inclined to study other majors like business where they can find a position and seek their desired job without making many abortive attempts Turning to the influences, the lack of ample human resources could have some negative effects on societies. Since many countries are dealing with environmental issues these days, such as climate change and pollution, the fewer they have skilled workers and experts in science fields, the less they would probably be able to manage and mitigate this major challenge. Moreover, millions of people are losing their lives when a vicious disease becomes widespread. Take COVID-19 for example, which is considered one of the deadliest respiratory diseases in history, should you have a shortage of specialists in the health sector, there will be dire consequences which can lead to an even greater number of deaths. To conclude, how difficult the subjects related to science are and how many students may remain redundant after their graduation are some plausible reasons for them to ignore those types of subjects. This in turn could result in a decrease in the number of highly knowledgeable and skilful people in society.