Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In contemporary era of technology and development, the use of smartphones has seen an increasing trend. The limited entertainment opportunities and lack of physical activities are the major factors that caused this tremendous growth. While it has some advantages on the contrary, I am of the opinion that it is a not a positive development. The most conspicuous reason of the massive growth in smartphone usage is the technological advancement which has improved the features in mobile phones. Communication through social media applications as well as the gaming interface are two perfect epitomes of this. Moreover, the family time has been affected by the current materialism race prevailing throughout the globe. That is why children do not get the required attention and time from parents and hence they make use of the smart phones to utilise their time. This development has been negative effects that can cause an ire pairable damage to the children. Firstly, physical and mental health can be affected badly due to excessive use of phones and research at university of Sydney (2022) proves that eye diseases, depression and other ailments are caused by overuse of handheld devices. Furthermore, digital relationships and social application have discouraged face to face social life and gatherings that can be an alarming sign for declining moral and ethical values. To recapitulate, advancement in information and technology has led to dependence on the smartphones which is becoming an insurmountable problem for our children to focus on their studies and enjoy a healthy life.