In many countries, there is an increase in the proportion of ageing population. Some people think that old people over the age of sixty-five cannot contribute to our society any more. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Never has the topic concerning ageing failed to attract the public’s attention. However, when it comes to people under retirement age (over 65 years old), some people claim that those seniors cannot continuously contribute to their communities. I tend to disagree with this opinion and believe that senior citizens can still be valuable members of our society. It is understandable that some people hold the view that elder people are not conducive to this world. To begin with, when people are over the age of 65, the majority of them have already retired. Since they are less energetic and sometimes cannot bear severe living pressure, especially when they suffer from some diseases, the government need to shoulder the responsibility to support their lives, which will aggravate its financial burden. Apart from that, those elderly people are not likely to burst out with creative ideas, and because of this, they can barely provide any solutions to current issues. Under such circumstances, they are not inclined to be engaged in the rapid development of society. However, the fact is that seniors over 65 years old can contribute to society in other ways. Elderly individuals can teach the young some traditional culture, thereby enhancing the young’s cultural identity. Chances are that if young people are always blind to the local culture, without the guidance of the elder, our cultural diversity is prone to vanish in the future. Additionally. another way in which the public can benefit from a more active older generation is by inviting older employees to remain in work part-time. Older people may not want to or indeed be able to do a full day’s work; however, their experience may continue to be invaluable to their employees. A good example of this can be seen in one scheme in many countries, where elder employees remained at work as mentors for young people. In conclusion, I am against the view that seniors over the age of 65 cannot be contributing members of modern society anymore, since they can benefit this world in other aspects, such as promoting traditional culture and guiding young people in the workplace.