In many countries parents worry about the amount of time children spend watching TV and using the internet. What do you think are the causes of this , what solutions can you suggest

These days, there is a significantly increased number of young people who spend a lot of time watching television programs and surfing the internet and their parents show concerns about this condition. There is a myriad of reasons that leads to this phenomenon and both the school and parents are responsible for taking action to tackle the problem. Regarding the reasons children spend too much time using electronic devices for entertainment, the most significant reason is that teenagers are facing high pressure in daily life. In our society, teachers and parents usually have high expectations of kids' academic performance.Most adolescents are busy with their school work and assignments during the day and many of them are stressed by their school life. Both television and the internet are entertaining and they usually provide a relaxing environment for their user to get away from reality. Therefore, they would prefer watching dramas or surfing the internet in order to escape from the reality after school. Another reason that I can think of is that the new generation is getting more and more independent and they do not like to communicate with others. With the advance of technology, people could able to entertain themselves in many ways ranging from watching television and listening to music from Youtube to playing computer games. Children who grow up in this generation do not have much chance to have face-to-face communication with others and seldom enjoy participating in activities that involve other people like playing sports and they would rather glue their eyes to the computer screen or television. In order to solve this problem, both schools and parents should share the responsibility. The school should not only focus on children's academic results anymore, indeed, they should also focus on children's physical and mental health. In fact, they should lengthen the time of physical examination lessons. With the increased time in doing sports at school, students are able to find fun in doing exercise and have some time to relax from their hectic school life. In addition to this, students are also able to learn to communicate with others through participating in team sports. As a result, they may spend less time enjoying TV programs or using computers after school and prefer doing sports with friends in an attempt to relax. Parents also have an important role in solving this problem. Although most parents lead a hectic life and are always busy with their work, they should spend more time taking care of their children. They should communicate and teach their kids about the correct way to deal with stress. Also, as children have poor self-control, a time limit for using television or computer should be set. Parents should encourage their kids to participate in other activities such as reading, doing sports, and hanging out with friends during their free time. In conclusion,as the problem of children spending increased time watching television and playing with their computers is alarming is alarming, both the school and parents are able to solve the problem together.