Unemployment is increasingly getting serious in most countries. Some people think pupils should be only offered primary education while others believe that secondary education is necessary. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, unemployment is an issue that troubles many countries. Some people think that primary education is sufficient while others consider secondary school essential. I totally agree with the latter, and I will explain it in the following paragraphs. First of all, secondary education gives students the chance to learn more especially science subjects such as physics, biology and chemistry. Furthermore, it requires certain mental maturity in order to grasp the principles of these subjects, explaining why they are only taught in the teenagers years. If only primary education is being offered, children will miss the opportunity to study and be benefited from these subjects. In a long run, the nation will not produce sufficient experts in scientific study and research, which will definitely crumble the growth of the country. Moreover, globalisation has made the workplace more competitive in the past few decades. Different skills and knowledge are needed in order to out beat others across the globe. People of primary education will lose greatly to those who are more knowledgeable especially in the professional workforce, for example, engineering, accounting and scientific research. As a result of which, a country that only focuses on primary education will regress in development and loses to its counterparts. In summary, secondary education is crucial in this modern world as children need more knowledge and skills which can only be acquired in secondary school. These will help them to be better equipped to face the challenges and competition at the workplace later in their life.