Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no doubt that online entertainment sites nowadays are becoming a major source of attraction. They are well liked by all the people belonging to different age groups. While they are becoming quite popular in the society, they also carry some risks if we are sharing our personal data with them. In this essay, I will discuss the benefits and drawbacks and explain why the benefits outweigh the drawbacks with examples. Firstly, it is common knowledge that these online sites require us to share our sensitive data. This has a risk attached to it. For instance, they might share your personal data with a third party institution without your consent. However, due to the latest government policies for data privacy and protection which are stringent in nature, many companies have started implementing strict security protocols and laws. If the government feels that a company is breaching the security code, it can then impose heavy fines on that particular social media site. Secondly, many people nowadays are using social media as a tool to earn money. These people are called influencers and they earn by uploading motivational videos and images. In addition, these sites are an excellent way for communicating as we can send a message to someone or even attend a video conference from a remote location. Furthermore, If we want to monetize our business, all we need to do is advertise the business information on social media. For example, creating a business page, explaining how the business will help others and how people can contribute to it. In conclusion, although sharing sensitive data with online applications carries a certain amount of risk, I believe the advantages of using social media effectively, outnumber the disadvantages and risks.