Recent reserch suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison commit crimes after they are released. Why is this the case? What can be done to solve this problem?

Nowadays, many people believe that most crime offenders keep doing criminal activities even after they are out of prison. In this essay, I will explore the reasons and possible solutions to this phenomenon. Firstly, I will discuss why societies do not accept ex-criminals in their environment and secondly, I will offer some solutions in terms of rehabilitation to the societies. One of the reasons why ex-prisoners fall out of the crime circle is because societies tend to not accept those people even if it was an insignificant crime. For this reason, people who committed crimes often received a refusal from employers, their own families and friends. Due to all these factors, those who are released might think that the best way to sustain their life is to re-offend in order to return to their relatives. Another cause could be related to the psychological side. For example, there are ex-criminals who have enough funds to resume their lives, however, due to their nature, they might continue to offend. There are some solutions to this matter. Firstly, the government should introduce programs for the rehabilitation and reintegration of new convicts. Another way to reduce the number of recidivism is to change an individual's mindset. This can be done by understanding that some convicts should have a second chance to change. For instance, there are support groups which could help those people to reintegrate into their previous life. In conclusion, if these methods are put into action, the number of offenders will eventually decrease. It is clear that it depends on the attitude of the individuals, especially the relatives of those who are released and the actions of authorities.