In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Some people have been thinking that, with hard work and practising a lot you can achieve anything, and they suggest that young youth must learn hard-working from an early age. While there are some benefits to this mindset there are also some drawbacks. In the following paragraphs, we will discuss some of them. Considering the benefits, trying hard has always paid off, so we should teach children to be disciplined and organized because the first rule to learning to be a hard worker is discipline so as a result the more a child tries, the more he or she becomes consistent. For example, a study held by Harvard university revealed that individuals with discipline tend to become more successful and reach. Secondly, another advantage of trying hard is that it makes people more confident. Being prosperous correlates with self-esteem and it has been proved by so numerous psycho-social studies and research. For instance, On the other hand, parents and society should not push children to do things they don’t love. Participating in jobs and work which are not people’s favourites, could result in low happiness and self-confidence. For example, when you try hard to learn or achieve a purpose that is not your first choice or favourite, in the long term run, could destroy your mental health and life satisfaction. Although, genetics plays a huge role in this controversy. Yes, you can indeed achieve anything by working hard, but when you don’t have the proper foundation, you can’t achieve it no matter how hard you had tried. For instance, you can not push someone who is interested in art to become an accountant by practising hard. To conclude, being a hard pusher and consistent has several advantages such as being successful and happy but if, when people are forced to become try hard, could backfire and make them unhappy. So every child is different and this message could not be told to them as a general rule.