Many people believe that cycling is a healthy and environmentally friendly mode of transport.However, it is still unpopular in many countries. What are the reasons? What could be done to encourage the use of the bicycle among wider population?

There is no doubt that cycling is extremely beneficial for health plus it is a type of transport which does not pollute or harm our surroundings. Even knowing all the pros of using bicycles, it is still not prioritized by people around the globe. The reasons for this ignorance and the acts by which the population can be motivated to adopt cycling will be discussed in this essay. To begin with the possible causes, the prime ones are status symbols, easy affordability of luxurious cars with the help of finance companies and lack of motivation due to peer pressure.In the modern world, an iPhone, and branded clothes plus branded cars are the recognitions of the current lifestyle which is why people do not tend to use bicycles. On top of it, the advertisements of financing companies which mostly targets youngsters by giving them luring deals on cars promote this trend and also the factor of peer pressure plays its role here too. For instance, many international students come to Canada and buy cars within the first year of their arrival just because of the easy financing options and inspiration from their fellow beings. Therefore, all the above-mentioned factors lead to the non-popularity of cycles. Talking about the solutions to change this narrative, first of all, the government should inspire people to use cycles. For this, several seminars can be organized by the local authorities which can explain the advantages that bicycling brings and our planet earth can potentially be saved from pollution. In addition to it, the government should also watch closely the companies that provide loans and put some hard criteria in order to get approved for the cars. Thus, this would help to motivate people to save money and their health which will also result in environmentally friendly exercise. To conclude, cycling is useful for health and the environment. People do not prefer it for the sake of status symbols. The government should encourage people to use bicycles as it will save money, health and the globe.