In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby. To what extent do you think this is a positive trend? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Every day, millions of people go out to do shopping, it is an activity that you can do everywhere, alone or with some friends and there are many kinds of research which explain how this thing can relax the body and mind. Some years ago, “shopping” was considered merely buying groceries, but in these years is more than this, and for many people shopping is a lifestyle. In this essay,I will discuss why I strongly believe this is a negative trend for society It is hard to believe that our grandmother used to go into supermarkets to do shopping, but 60 years ago this was normal. In the past, there was more lack of money and families can’t waste them on expensive clothes. Parents and their children only had one pair of shoes which was supposed to be for several years, especially for this poverty situation the dressing market that today, all we know didn’t exist yet. My grandfather told me that his parents were the most grateful people when they can get fresh meals for lunch or dinner. These days people struggle with the quantity of money they can spend, but for someone, there is always one chance to buy a new dress. Capitalism is a reality that we have to coexist, there are a lot of facilities that every day send to shopping centres all the types of clothing or tools. Because the word “shopping”, does not refer only to items that we put on, but also to all the things that can be unuseful, but which we still buy. I think that this is a bad habit, especially nowadays, when the environment has to face some difficulties. Unfortunately, a lot of people waste their money on items that they never dress or use only two times, and now we have to think before buying something because all of this consumerism is a really big danger for all of us. To conclude, over the years the way we think about shopping is changed and this essay discussed some reasons why this happens and I presented my opinion about how much this is not a positive trend, because of the risks for society and the environment.