Some people believe that international free-car days are effective ways to reduce air pollution. However, others argue that there are several other ways that are more effective: Discuss both views & give your own opinion.

The ecological collapse that humanity is getting into is an object of concern for many scientists and country leaders. In this sense, these days are applied numerous laws and reforms are to improve the state of the environment. One of them is the free-car days initiative, a hotly debated topic that often divides opinions about its efficiency. In the following paragraphes both opinions will be detailly analysed. In the beginning, it's correct to prove the efficiency of this reform. Firstly, It is proved that car emissions are the main reason for climate change, therefore, the selection of some days when driving is forbidden would have a good impact on ecology. Furthermore, besides other campaigns like Earth hour, when all the light all over the planet is turned off, it has the purpose to sensitise and touch people's hearts with environmental problems, and it has succeeded. However, it is not the most efficient way of solving the climate issue, as in the rest of the year traffic becomes more and more intense. There are more efficient politics that society has to pay attention to, for,instance the politics of promoting electric cars through lower income taxes, or the construction of better infrastructure for bicycles, a method used in some European countries. Similarly, there are a lot of government grants and financial supports oriented on sustainable energy, like solar or eolian. To sum up, even though the days without cars is an initiative with outlook, it is not so widespread, so, not as useful as it should be. Therefore, I agree that there are some more efficient solutions for the ecological problems, that are more reasonable, changing the economy, hence they have a stronger basis and space to evolve in the future.