Many students choose to study at colleges and universities that are far away from the places where they grew up. Do the benefits of this outweigh the drawbacks?

Many graduates opt to attend colleges and universities which are far from their locality. Although students studying in distant colleges get exposure and become independent, I believe that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages because they might misuse their freedom and get attracted to bad habits. The main advantage of studying in other cities is that they will become capable of handling daily activities without any help. That is to say that, when staying with family we share daily chores which is not an individual responsibility. In addition to that, with lesser family distractions they get plenty of time to concentrate on their academics for a better future. For example, a recent study in India has revealed that students who joined distant colleges have not only excelled in exams but also demonstrated extraordinary skills in campus festivals and hiring events. However, I believe that some will be not able to handle this drastic change in life and become unsuccessful in directing towards a better path. The disadvantage is that young minds get an opportunity to enjoy freedom whereas weak minded will be involved in bad company. This is because, a lack of monitoring by guardians might attract them towards unlawful activities and tend to misuse the given independence. For instance, a survey in metropolitan cities has revealed that most of the residential college students are drug addicts, indulged in various fights and were later caught by police. In conclusion, even though individuals become mature enough to handle their life on their own and build their future ahead by joining non-local universities it also has drawbacks of being drawn into the wrong company and will not be able to direct the freedom given to right path.