Some people say that TV should be mainly used to educate and inform viewers, while others believe it should be used for entertainment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the present age, whether TV should be watched for education and news or should be used for entertainment purposes has sparked a lot of debate. Some people assert that TV should be used to gain knowledge, whereas others believe it should be used for fun. Personally, I am in the favour of latter view. Nowadays, people are becoming more work-centric and work very hard to achieve their professional goals. Firstly, Television provides a lot of programs which are fun. People watch these programs to entertain themselves and take a small break from their daily routines. As a result, their productivity increases. Secondly, crowds watch TV with a family which provides them with better family time. For example, a family watch a family movie show called Taarak Mehta ka Ulta chashma. Therefore, their family bond increases and they feel much happier. Thirdly, the television has a large screen and can be watched from a long distance. It will help us to protect our eyes from blue light emitted from the screen. Therefore, we can reduce our eye problems which can be caused by the screen it is watched from a short distance. Admittedly, TV has a lot of programs which are on education and news and it is a great source of information. However, this information is already available on the platforms like electronic gadgets with a single click; hence, individuals use their gadgets to get the information in no time. Even so, individuals who use the TV for learning and news also watch television for entertainment purposes. Consequently, the benefits of watching TV for just learning and news are quite limited. In summary, I would concede that TV could be a good source of knowledge. Despite that, watching TV for entertainment purposes provides more benefits. Overall, I am convinced that TV should be used for fun.